Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Something is VERY wrong in my coolidor.
     Okay, I've had a trying week, and this weekend wasn't much better.  Long story short, I had no time to really sit and enjoy a smoke until today.  I grabbed a stick I've never tried before, and went for it.

I cut and take a quick pre-light draw.  Draw is good, but I notice a funny taste on my lips.  I dismiss it as a characteristic of the new stick, and think nothing of it.  So, I light up - still getting the funny taste/residue on my lips, and finding the stick tasteless.  I'm thiking to myself, "This stick sucks!  I'm getting a different cigar."

So, I go for a really NICE smoke, one that I KNOW won't let me down (Padron 1964).  Unfortunately, I encounter the same issue.... funny taste on my lips, and strange residue - and NO flavor from the cigar!  WHAT!?!  This is a F*CKING PADRON!  I know something is wrong, now. 

I do this about 4 more times, inspecting the sticks.  The sticks are a little dusty looking, almost like they've been giving a slight dusting with that super fine popcorn salt.  Nothing green, nothing that looks like typical mold to me.... although the sticks seem slightly "hairy" to me (...no shaving jokes here, please!).

What's the problem?  I wouldn't suspect plume to develop in a coolidor that's less than 2 months old.  ANY help would be greatly appreciated, as it seems my entire collection is at stake.

-Pete
Pete....you said a few look "hairy"....do you have any pics?

Just a thought here....Have you tried buying a stick from a B/m & smoking that? Sometimes a condition develops (I don't remember the name) when your taste buds are basically overloaded, so everything you taste seems blah. It happens from time to time. I think it happened to Mario a few months ago.  I don't know if this is your situation. Anyways, just a thought.
If Sonny had EZ-Pass, he'd have survived that hit...
Never apologize mister, it's a sign of weakness. - Capt. Nathan Cutting Brittles