StogieChat Cigar Forum
Smoking etiquette - Printable Version

+- StogieChat Cigar Forum (https://www.stogiechat.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Cigars (https://www.stogiechat.com/forum/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: General Cigar Discussion (https://www.stogiechat.com/forum/forum-14.html)
+--- Thread: Smoking etiquette (/thread-4646.html)

Pages: 1 2 3

- crowb8 - 01-08-2009

Y'all know I'm a newbie, so I have to ask; when you smoke your cigar in public, do you leave the band on while you smoke or take it off?

- Matt-N-Ga. - 01-08-2009

I never knew this would even be a question.  I guess I don't understand why it would matter.  I smoke what I like, if the people I'm smoking with don't like it, they don't have to smoke it.  I can't see why there would be an "etiquette" reason why you'd take the band off. 

Not trying to be an ass, so in answer to your question, i leave the band on unless it gets in the way of comfortable smoking. 

- Vitamin G - 01-08-2009

I don't usually smoke in public, and when i do, its just with friends.  I left the band on, as i've actually never herfed with buddies and NOT brought all the cigars, and was then reimbursed.

I know that techincally, (and usually in Europe mostly) etiquette says you should take the bands off, as to not to make the guy smoking the Philly Blunt feel inferior to your stradavarius or opus.   Since i'm providing the goods, i could care less. 

Frankly, i would probably care less if i smoked in a B&M also.

- Tonto - 01-08-2009

I usually leave it on until the ash starts to get close to it, then I will take it off.

I smoke the cigar, not the band.

If you try to take it off too soon, some of the glue might be stuck to the wrapper & you might damage the cigar if you try to force it.

- Bobgun - 01-08-2009

I'm not too concerned if the band is on or not, however,  I always make sure that when I smoke in public that my little finger is up in the air.Smile

- Matt-N-Ga. - 01-08-2009